The Eagle's Prey

The Eagle's Prey

Book - 2004
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
THE EAGLE'S PREY is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

It is late summer 44 AD and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops' commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the Emperor to crush the natives once and for all.

Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Maximus and it's their task to hold a ford across the river Tamesis when the natives are forced into a trap. But Maximus's nerve breaks at the critical point, allowing the enemy leader, Caratacus, and his men to escape.

Outraged by this failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit. Their choice: die, or escape to become a fugitive pursued by soldiers of their own ruthless army. Hiding from their former comrades, as well as the Britons, Cato's small band of fugitives have only one chance to redeem themselves before they are hunted down like animals...
Publisher: London, England :, Headline,, [2004].
Copyright Date: ©2004
ISBN: 9780755349999
Characteristics: 468 pages :,map ;,20 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
merlinsilver
Jan 25, 2015

Really fast paced. I've decided to start at the beginning of the series and go forward. Lots of military action, stays mostly true to history. Just could not put it down.

e
Eosos
Jun 06, 2014

A fascinating look at military justice in the Roman Army. And another in a great collection of adventure stories that enthrall.

EuSei Sep 01, 2012

Book # 5

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top