The White Forest

The White Forest

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
In the tradition of "The Night Circus" and Sarah Waters' "The Little Stranger," Adam McOmber's hauntingly original debut novel follows a young woman in Victorian England whose peculiar abilities help her infiltrate a mysterious secret society. Jane has a secret - an unexplainable gift that allows her to see the souls of manmade objects - and this talent isolates her from the outside world.
Publisher: New York ; Toronto : Simon & Schuster, 2012.
Edition: First Touchstone hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781451664256
Characteristics: 303 pages ;,25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

y
ypaular1
Mar 12, 2017

This is overall a very interesting book. I grabbed this while waiting for my 'on hold' books that seem to be taking some time. The superficial powers and setting up the world was well-described in the book as setting the scenery engulfed one's creative imagination. I was hoping to have more of quite stronger ending and a very entertaining battle.

k
KarenW
Jan 02, 2014

Wonderfully engrossing story of a young woman with an extraordinary talent - man made things speak to her in colours and sound. However this talent does not save her dearest friend from being swept away and she must use all of her senses to find him. Gothic fantasy recreates 19th century London with all of the eras fascination of the occult and dark arts. This book made me think of another great gothic read - The Seance by John Harwood.

a
Acteon
May 10, 2013

I'm not sure the world created here is as stange and mysterious was intended but the heroine is interesting and I enjoyed the transformation of her character.

p
pitkerro
Nov 06, 2012

One weird book. So much so that I can't rate it.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top